World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) 2013

BackgroundThe World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) is a unique global contest which brings together young developers and digital entrepreneurs - under 30 years of age - who use internet and mobile technology to put the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) into action and make a difference.The WSYA selects and promotes best practice in e-Content. It demonstrates young people's potential to create outstanding digital contents and serves as a platform for people from all UN member states to work together in the efforts to reach the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).How to participate?Young creators of digital content can register their products themselves via an online platform until the 30th of July 2013. An international young expert jury will then judge the projects/products and select 3 winners  and 2 runners-up in each of the six WSYA categories.6 categories to become digital champion
  1. Fight Poverty, Hunger and Disease!
  2. Education for All!
  3. Power 2 Women!
  4. Create your Culture!
  5. Go Green!
  6. Pursue Truth!
What can you win?The reward for winners is to be recognized on a world stage, to be invited to the winners' events (with all related cost covered by organizers), to be able to connect with each other and discuss with renowned experts in the field of ICT for development. Please note, that the Youth Award is not a cash award. Last year's WSYA Winners' Event took place in the framework of the WCIT 2012 (World Congress on Information Society) in Montréal, Canada.  The WSYA's regional version, the European Youth Award (EYA), held its Winners Event in Graz, Austria.Who is organising the Award?The WSYA is organised as a follow up activity of the World Summit on Information Society and its action plan towards the year 2015. The Youth Award is being organised by the World Summit Award Network for the fith time after 2005, 2009, 2010, and 2011. It is promoted in all UN member states through the networks of the World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) the UN Global Alliance for ICT, other participating UN Organisations and Agencies such as UNESCO and UNIDO, governments and NGOs, youth organisations, and all those committed to making a real difference in the achievement of the MDGs.Important Information about the WSYA Contest
  • The WSYA Contest is open to young people under 30 (born after January 1, 1983) coming from a UN Member State.
  • If you are coming from a EU Member state, your application will automatically be selected for the regional Award, the European Youth Award (EYA). The registration process for the EYA and WSYA is common, you only need to register your project once!
  • All winners will be invited to the Winners´ Event . The date and location will be confirmed soon!
  • Applicants must submit their projects until July 1st,  2013 in one of the following 6 categories.
To register and apply for the WSYA 2013, click HERE.The WSYA Team is based at the International Centre for New Media (ICNM), an independent non-profit organisation in Salzburg, Austria.
The World Summit Youth Award Website