2016 Commonwealth Photography Competition

A new photography competition has been announced to inspire people throughout the 53 member countries of the Commonwealth to hone their camera skills and capture striking images that reflect this year's theme of 'An Inclusive Commonwealth'. 

The Competition will launch on Commonwealth Day on 14 March and runs until 25 April 2016. Open to Commonwealth citizens of all ages, submitted photographs should epitomize the beauty and individuality that help to define the modern Commonwealth.

An Inclusive Commonwealth

The Commonwealth theme for 2016, ‘An Inclusive Commonwealth’, celebrates the diversity of this community of nations, which is made up of more than two billion people. The Commonwealth Photography Competition aims to encourage new talent and showcase captivating images which help to represent the theme.

The winning photographs will form part of an exhibition at the Commonwealth Secretariat's headquarters in London throughout 2016. These photographs will also feature in a new Commonwealth Calendar for 2017 and be published and promoted on the Commonwealth's website and social media accounts. Each featured finalist will receive a copy of the calendar, in addition to a cash prize.


Commonwealth Photographer of the Year 2016

The photographer with the picture judged by a panel of judges to be the best overall will receive a cash prize of £1,000 (GBP). 

Regional Awards

The best photographer from Africa, Asia, Caribbean and the Americas, Europe, and the Pacific will each receive a cash prize of £500 (GBP).

Highly Commended Award

The photographer with the entry which receives the most ‘likes’ on Instagram will receive £100 (GBP).

For more information visit here

2016 Commonwealth Photography Competition